Simple Shaker Card

Hello again! I’m here with another shaker card, but a very simple one. Minimal supplies are needed, and it can be completed in about 10-15 minutes. I found a container of multi-colored seed beads that were calling my name. As I was looking at them, I decided to have the die cut match the colors of the beads. So let’s jump in!…

I recently got this “love” die cut from Paper Smooches, and wouldn’t ya know….I just LOVE it! It’s so cute and fun, how can you resist? If you have another word die with open spaces like this, feel free to use that. First, start by die cutting the word from a piece of card stock for the front panel cut to 4 1/4 by 5 1/2, a piece of craft foam that fits behind the front panel (I adhered 2 pieces of 2 mm craft foam together before die cutting it so the beads had lots of room to shake around), and one more from whatever color card stock you want the letters to be. Since I am coordinating my letters with the colors of the beads, I pounced some distress ink on white card stock before I cut it out. For this part, I used Cracked Pistachio, Picked Raspberry, Mermaid Lagoon and Shaded Lilac. Now that everything is cut and ready to go, attach a piece of acetate to the back  of the card front piece. I used a glue pen for this…liquid glue may get messy, and a tape runner may not get in all the places you need it to. Use the negative space from the foam to adhere to the back of your front panel and line it up so you can’t see the foam from the front. If you adhere these with a liquid glue, you will have a couple seconds to move it around to get it lined up just right…I used Tombow Mono here.

Next, flip your piece over to the front to add the letters. This will essentially be an in-laid die cut. This particular Paper Smooches die has the outline as one piece, and the center pieces of the “o” and “e” have to be added, so it’s very simple to put back together (I used a glue pen for this as well). Once that is complete, it’s time to add your seed beads! This is where the thick piece of foam really helps out. Pour in your choice of beads onto the acetate within the foam (the foam’s thickness allows room for more beads). The beads will shake all over that open space! I cut my card front to the exact size of my A2 card base so it’s easier to line up upside down. Using a liquid glue can help for this too. Your shaker card is complete! I heat embossed “you” from a Thank You stamp, but you can leave it as is, or add some sequins as embellishments. I very happy with this card…I think it’s simple and fun at the same time. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

